California Guard Card F.A.Q.
- What are the requirements for registering as a security guard?The general requirements are as follows:
- You must be at least 18 years old,
- You must undergo a criminal background check through the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), and
- You must complete a 40-hour course of required training.
40-Hour Security Guard Training Requirement
|Date of Completion||Training Hours Needed|
|Prior to being assigned on post||8 hours|
|Required within 30 days of guard card approval||16 hours|
|Required within 6 months of guard card approval||16 hours|
|Total Hours||40 Hours|
- Do I have to take a drug test? BSIS does not require a drug test in order to apply for a guard card.
- How much does it cost to get my guard card?In addition to the cost of your security training classes, you will need to pay for Livescan fingerprinting ($49 + variable “rolling” service fee) and BSIS application processing ($55 for mail-in or online).
- How long does the application process take?BSIS usually processes new applications within 30-60 days, but it can be as few as 3-5 days if your information is correct and you have a clean background. While you wait for your actual guard card to arrive in the mail, your name will show up on the BSIS website so employers can verify your security guard registration.
- Can I verify that BSIS received my application? You can contact BSIS at (916) 322-4000.
- How long does my guard card last?Registration is valid for two years and expires the day after the expiration date on your card. There’s a 60-day grace period during which you can pay a delinquent fee to reinstate your registration. After 60 days, if you haven’t renewed, you must reapply as a new applicant.
- How do I renew my guard cardFeel free to visit breeze.ca.gov, create an account and pay for the guard card. It will be an instant renewal once paid with card.
- What if I lose my guard card or it gets destroyed?Guards who have lost or had a guard card stolen must notify their employer and apply to the Bureau for a replacement within 72 hrs of your registration card being lost.
You can submit a card replacement request Online, visit www.breeze.ca.govYou can request a duplicate registration by submitting a written request that explains your situation, along with a $25 fee, to BSIS. It usually takes six to eight weeks to get a replacement.
- I’m moving. Do I have to let BSIS know if I change my address? You must notify BSIS in writing within 30 days of an address change. Be sure to print or type the following information:
- Your security guard registration number,
- Your name,
- Your previous address,
- Your new address,
- Your date of birth, and
- Your social security number.
- I’m changing employers. Do I need to send in a new guard card application? A guard registration authorizes you to work as a security guard for any private patrol operator or in-house employer.
- Can I work for more than one person or company?Yes, as long as you’re an employee on payroll with the proper payroll deductions being made.
- I’ve completed PC 832 training (Arrest and Firearms Course) Can I get a guard card? To get the Bureau’s registration/permit, you must complete the Bureau’s training.
- I’m an emancipated minor. Can I apply for a guard card? There are no exceptions to the age requirement.
- What if I have a felony or misdemeanor conviction?Crimes of violence and felonies automatically disqualify you from applying to be a security guard in the State of California. For all others, the State considers the circumstances surrounding your conviction and evidence of rehabilitation. Just fill out the BSIS application completely and truthfully.
- I received a 1203.4 dismissal on my conviction. Do I still need to report it on my application? You must report the conviction.
- I was denied a guard card. When can I reapply?You can submit a new application one year from the date of denial.
- Can a family member give the power to arrest test to the person who’s applying for a guard card (e.g. father to son)?Yes, if they’re licensed or delegated by a licensed authority to do so.